Français

Research projects

Our research interests revolve around the validation of emerging biological targets with therapeutic or diagnostic potential. More specifically, the lab is interested in following targets:

Exploration of GPCRs chemical space

G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) constitute the largest family of membrane receptors and the target of about 40% of drugs. In this family, our research work focuses on the design of ligands capable to bias peptidergic receptors signaling such as APJ (apelin hormone target) and NTS1 (neurotensin hormone target) receptors. Biased signaling is a relatively new concept, which aims to favor specific signaling pathways. Conceptually, this would allow to bias signaling pathways toward the desired effects at the expense of signaling pathways leading to adverse effects by modulating ligand structure. We are also interested in receptors activated by fatty acids such as GPR40 and GPR120, in a polypharmacology context against type 2 diabetes

Macrocycles

Macrocycles are a unique chemical class which combine the ability to display distant pharmacophores while keeping a semi-rigid structure. Therefore, they have the potential to combine the benefits of large molecules in terms of structural information content and the benefits of small molecules in term of PK-ADME. Several projects involving macrocycles are ongoing, with the goal to inhibit protein-protein interactions and modulate GPCRs signalisation.

Novel molecular transporters for cell penetration

We develop new molecular transporters capable to help impermeable molecules cross cell membranes. In the long term, we target the development of vectors capable to discriminate different cellular types for targeted drug delivery.

Inhibitors of type 2 transmembrane serine proteases (TTSPs)

In this class of protein, we focus on matriptase and matriptase 2. We have designd a new class of peptidomimetic inhibitors that display efficacy to inhibit the replication of the H1N1.

Emerging class of antibiotics

Riboswitches are secondary RNA structures that controle a specific genetic operon. Inhibiton of certain riboswitches is emerging as a promising target against multiresistant pathogens such as methycillin resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) or Clostridium difficile.

Collaborations

Our working environment is highly multidisciplinary. Our network of collaborators includes groups of R. Leduc, M. Grandbois, E. Escher, J.B. Denault (Pharmacology); P. Sarret (Physiology), D. Lafontaine, F. Malouin (Biology); L.C. Fortier (Microbiology); R. Najmanovich, P. Lavigne (Biochemistry), M. Richter, A. de Brum-Fernandes (Medecine), M. Lepage, B. Guérin (Radiobiology), M. Bouvier (IRIC, Montreal), V. Poitout (Centre de Recherche sur le Diabète de Montréal), A. Yudin (U. Toronto), Bruno Reversade (Singapour).

Funding

We are grateful to the following funding agencies :

Institut de Pharmacologie
de Sherbrooke

English

Thèmes de recherche

Au coeur des intérêts de recherche du groupe se retrouve la validaton de cibles biologiques en émergence, avec comme horizon de nouveaux agents thérapeutiques ou diagnostiques. Plus particulièrement, le labo s’intéresse aux cibles suivantes :

Exploration de l’espace chimique des GPCRs

Les récepteurs couplés aux protéines G (GPCRs) constituent la plus grande famille de récepteurs membranaires et la cible d’environ 40% des médicaments. Dans cette famille, nos travaux portent sur la conception de ligands capables de biaiser la signalisation des récepteurs peptidergiques tels que les récepteurs de l’APJ (cible de l’hormone apéline) et NTS1 (cible de l’hormone neurotensine). La signalisation biaisée, un concept encore récent, permet de privilégier certaines voies de signalisation. Conceptuellement, ceci permettrait de biaiser la signalisation vers des voies menant à l’effet désiré, au détriment de voies de signalisation menant à des effets indésirables, en modulant la structure du ligand. Nous nous intéressons également aux récepteurs activés par les acides gras tels que GPR40 et GPR120, dans un contexte de polypharmacologie pour le diabète de type 2.

Macrocycles

Les macrocycles sont une classe chimique unique qui combine la capacité de présenter des pharmacophores distants, tout en conservant une structure semi-rigide. Ce faisant, ils allient les bénéfices des grandes molécules en terme de quantité d’information structurale, aux bénéfices des petites molécules en terme de propriétés PK-ADME. Nous poursuivons plusieurs projets visant à exploiter les macrocycles pour l’inhibition d’interactions protéine-protéine ainsi que la modulation de la signalisation des GPCRs.

Nouveaux agents de pénétration cellulaire

Nous élaborons de nouveaux transporteurs moléculaires capables de faire pénétrer la membrane cellulaire à des cargos ne possédant pas la physicochimie requise pour un transport passif. Dans le plus long terme, nous visons le développement de transporteurs capables de discriminer différents types cellulaires pour la livraison ciblée de médicaments.

Inhibiteurs de protéases à sérine transmembranaires de type 2 (TTSPs)

Dans cette classe, nous nous intéressons à la matriptase. Nous avons conçu une nouvelle classe d’inhibiteurs peptidomimétiques qui ont démontré leur capacité à inhiber la réplication du virus de l’influenza de type H1N1.

Nouvelles cibles antibiotiques

Les riborégulateurs sont des structures secondaires d’ARN qui contrôlent un opéron génétique spécifique. L’inhibition de certains riborégulateurs émerge comme une cible prometteuse contre des pathogènes multirésistants comme le Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthycilline (SARM) ou le Clostridium difficile.

Collaborations

Notre environnement de travail est hautement multidisciplinaire. Notre réseau de collaborateurs inclut les groupes de R. Leduc, M. Grandbois, E. Escher, J.B. Denault (Pharmacologie); P. Sarret (Physiologie), D. Lafontaine, F. Malouin (Biologie); L.C. Fortier (Microbiologie); R. Najmanovich, P. Lavigne (Biochimie), M. Richter, A. de Brum-Fernandes (Médecine), M. Lepage, B. Guérin (Radiobiologie), M. Bouvier (IRIC, Montréal), V. Poitout (Centre de Recherche sur le Diabète de Montréal), A. Yudin (U. Toronto), Bruno Reversade (Singapour).

Financement

Nous sommes reconnaissants aux organismes et institutions suivants pour leur support financier:

Institut de Pharmacologie
de Sherbrooke